Research Openings

Undergraduate, graduate, and postdoctoral positions are available. If you are a postdoctoral candidate, please email your CV along with a cover letter expressing your background and research interests to Professor Ardekani at ardekani@purdue.edu. If you are a graduate student applicant, please first apply to Purdue Mechancial Engineering graduate program. After the application deadline, I will carefully consider all the applicants and communicate with you directly if you are selected for an interview.

Principal Investigator

Arezoo Motavalizadeh Ardekani - Associate Professor
School of Mechanical Engineering
585 Purdue Mall
West Lafayette, IN 47907


ardekani@purdue.edu
Curriculum Vitae

PhD Students

Adib Ahmadzadegan
Co-advised
aahmadza@purdue.edu
Curriculum Vitae

My research focuses on studying the behavior of microorganisms near surfaces.

Soroush Aramideh
saramide@purdue.edu
Curriculum Vitae

My research is focused on the pore-scale modeling of multiphase flows in porous media. I am interested in the fundamentals of such flows and their behavior in the presence of polymers/surfactants.

Nikhil Desai
desai63@purdue.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Tianqi Guo
Co-advised
guo246@purdue.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Ziyang Huang
huan1020@purdue.edu
Curriculum Vitae

I am working on numerical methods to model cell motion.

Manish Kumar
kumar307@purdue.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Currently, I am working on the effect of external flow on the flagellated organisms.

Rishabh More
morer@purdue.edu
Curriculum Vitae

My current research focuses on the effects of stratification on horizontal clustering of particles and organisms. I worked on mixing dynamics in double-diffusive fluid layers during my undergrad at IIT Bombay.

Amir Hossein Raffiee
araffie@purdue.edu
Curriculum Vitae

My current research focuses on multi-scale modeling of blood cells. In general, I'm interested in the numerical simulation of motion of cells in complex fluid.

Vaseem Shaik
vshaik@purdue.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Yuchen Zhang
zhan1967@purdue.edu
Curriculum Vitae

MS Students

Khushal Ashok Bhatija
kashokbh@purdue.edu
Curriculum Vitae

My current research focuses on studying the effects of stratification on the motion of particles.

Sukirt
ssukirt@purdue.edu
Curriculum Vitae

I am currently working on numerical simulation of drug delivery.

Chao-Ying Chen
chen2399@purdue.edu
Curriculum Vitae

I am currently working on the spreading and sorption dynamics of a droplet over a porous substrate. My undergraduate project focused on analytical solutions in Fracture mechanics of a double cantilever beam.

Pratik Naik
naik9@purdue.edu
Curriculum Vitae

I am currently working on mechanistic modelling of Surfactant and Polymer Flooding to better understand and assess their role for chemical enhanced oil recovery.

Visiting Scholars

Shangsheng Feng
feng201@purdue.edu>
Curriculum Vitae

I am a lecturer at Xi’an Jiaotong University, Xi’an, China. My research background is on convective transport in cellular materials & structures. I am currently working on flow transport in porous biomaterials and tissues.

Shaowei Wang
wang3728@purdue.edu>
Curriculum Vitae

I am an Associate Professor of department of engineering mechanics at Shandong University, China. My research background is on fractional calculus and anomalous diffusion.

Undergraduate Students

Clayton J Culp
culpc@purdue.edu
Curriculum Vitae

My background in Biomedical Engineering. My experiments focus on tracking the motion of bacteria near surfaces.

Alumni

PhD students

Gaojin Li
li1803@purdue.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Gaojin's research focused on the motion of particles and microorganisms in complex fluids. He graduated with a PhD in Mechanical Engineering in December 2016 and joined Cornell as a postdoctoral researcher.

Shiyan Wang
swang12@nd.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Shiyan's research focused on the motion of small organisms in weakly inertial regime as well as density stratified fluids. He graduated with a PhD in Mechanical Engineering in May 2016.

Amin Doostmohammadi
adoostmo@nd.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Amin's research focused on the effects of stratification on the motion of passive and active particles. He graduated with a PhD in Mechanical Engineering in August 2014 and joined Oxford Centre for Soft and Biological Matter as a postdoctoral researcher.

Visiting scholars and postdoctoral researchers

Saeb Faraji
sfarajig@purdue.edu>
Curriculum Vitae

Saeb's research focused on numerical simulation of an underwater oil plume.

Samreen Ahsan
ahsan0@purdue.edu>
Curriculum Vitae

Samreen was a PhD candidate at University of Agriculture, Faisalabad. Her area of interest focused on food microbiology and biotechnology. She worked on “Lactic Acid Bacteria” and their role on fermentation of soymilk.

Mohammad Jafari
jafari0@purdue.edu>
Curriculum Vitae

Mohammad was a PhD candidate at Babol University of Technology (Iran). His research focuses on convection heat transfer and turbulence modeling. He is joining Lorestan university as an assistant Professor upon his graduation.

Alireza Karimi
akarimi@nd.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Alireza's research focused on the numerical investigation of the collective behavior of swimming organisms in various flow conditions. Alireza was a member of our group from 2012 to 2014 before joining Northeastern University as an assistant professor.

Yuandu Hu
yhu2@nd.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Yuandu's research focuses on the fabrication of microgels, active droplets, microcapsules, polymer vesicles using microfluidic techniques. He is interested in making colloidal crystals using self-assembly of mono-dispersed particles. Yuandu was a member of our group from 2013 to 2014 before joining Harvard as a postdoctoral researcher.

Morteza Bayareh
sbayareh@nd.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Morteza's research focused on the direct numerical simulation of swarm of drops in density-stratified fluids. Morteza has joined Shahrekord University as an assistant professor.

Glareh Azadi
gazadi@nd.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Galreh experimentally investigated the collective behavior of swimming organisms under various flow conditions.

Shahrzad Yazdi
sxh364@psu.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Shahrzad's research focused on understanding the interaction of microorganisms (bacteria in particular) with fluid flow using microfluidic devices to mimic their environment. She has also investigated motion of squirmers near a surface in viscoelastic fluids.

MS students

Mohit Jain
jain165@purdue.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Mohit's research focused on the modeling of interaction of surface and internal waves with the undulated bottom topography in oceans and seas.

Tiago Rosa dos Reis
tdosreis@purdue.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Tiago's research focused on microfluidic-based droplet generation devices. He recieved his MS in May 2016.

Anca Gal
agal@nd.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Anca's research focused on the hydrodynamic interaction of siwmming organisms. She recieved her MS in May 2015 and transfered to West Virginia University for her PhD.

Shibo Wang
swang14@nd.edu
Curriculum Vitae

After receiving her undergraduate degree in biology, she followed her passion for math and engineering and started her graduate education in Mechanical Engineering. Her researcg focused on the rheological measurements of biofilms. She graduated with her Master in May 2014 and joined Schneider Electric upon her graduation.

Undergraduate Students

Vishwa vasani
vvasani@purdue.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Vishwa's research focused on analytical solution of drops covered with surfactant and their interactions.

Ehsan Esmaeili
eesmaei@purdue.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Ehsan's research focused on fluid flow and interfacial motion in porous media.

Junyuan Li
li2599@purdue.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Junyuan's research focused on analytical solution of microbes interacting with surfaces.

Tolu Odimayomi
todimayo@purdue.edu

Tolu's research focused on experimental investigation of flow through porous media. She gradaduated from chemical engineering department in May 2017 and is pursuing her PhD at Purdue.

Daniel A. Quinkert
dquinker@purdue.edu

Daniel's research focuses on hydrodynamic interaction of bacteria. She gradaduated from chemical engineering department in May 2017.

Cameron McLenaghan
cmclenag@purdue.edu
Curriculum Vitae

Cameron's research focused an observation of fluid flow and interfacial motion in porous media. He gradaduated from physics department in May 2017.

Saksham Gakhar
sgakhar@purdue.edu

Saksham worked on the characterization of phase behavior of multiphase microemulsion systems via Dissipative Particle Dynamics. He joined Stanford MS program after graduation.

Kara Steffen
steffenk@purdue.edu

Kara worked on designing paper microfluidic devices using inexpensive techniques. She graduated in May 2016 and joined GE Healthcare upon her graduation.

Minki Kim
kim2150@purdue.edu

Minki's research focused on designing an experimental setup to investigate the bioconvective patterns induced by algal cells. Minki graduated in May 2016 and joined University of Michigan for his PhD.

Liu Hong
hong136@purdue.edu

Liu's research focused on the simulation of internal waves in the ocean.

Yuchen Zhang
zhan1967@purdue.edu

Yuchen's research focused on the mesoscale simulation of immiscible fluid mixtures. He numerically simulated the water-oil interface using the method of dissipative particle dynamics. Minki graduated in May 2016 and continues his PhD at Purdue.

Ujash Shah
shah272@purdue.edu

Ujash's research focused on the numerical simulation of ocean waves.

Fahim Rahman
rahman15@purdue.edu

Fahim's research focused on paper microfluidics. Fahim graduated in May 2015 and joined Oscar Winski upon his graduation.

Dhruv Subramaniam
dfnu@purdue.edu

Druv's research focused on modeling a biomimetic propulsion system for a Underwater robot.

Matthew Bedell
mbedell@nd.edu

Matthew's research focused on collective motion of bacteria. Matthew graduated in May 2014 and joined Ford upon his graduation.

Laura Mellitt
lmellitt@nd.edu

Laura's research focused on droplet generation using a glass capillary microfluidic device.

Kaitlin Maggiore
kmaggior@nd.edu

Kaitlin's work was focused on the restoration of Bowman Creek, a tributary to the St. Joseph River in South Bend. She gauged community interest in the project, taught the importance of water quality to high school students, and ran the project website. Kaitlin is now working as a Design Engineer at Stryker Medical in Kalamazoo, Michigan.

Eric Huston
ehuston@nd.edu

Eric’s research focused on the use of polymers for overbalanced drilling. Eric graduated in May 2013 and joined Insitu upon his graduation.

Benjamin Foley
bfoley3@nd.edu

Ben's research focused on settling of elongated particles in density stratified fluids. Ben graduated in May 2013 and joined Epic (Madison, WI) upon his graduation.

Emily Gore
egore@nd.edu

Emily's research focused on swimming microorganisms in viscoelastic background fluids. Emily graduated in May 2012 and joined Parametric Technology Corporation upon her graduation.

Walker Anderson
jander11@nd.edu

Walker's research focused on particle motion in a density stratified fluid. Walker graduated in May 2012 and joined Accenture upon his graduation.

free hit counter