Purdue University
Tagore
Society

PUTS @ Facebook
















What is PUTS?

Purdue University Tagore Society (PUTS) came into existence in the year 2002. Since then, it has been an integral part of the life on campus through various cultural and social activities. A part of its mission has been showcasing in and around the campus the Bengali culture, deeply influenced by the work and philosophy of the Nobel laureate poet and author Rabindranath Tagore.

Here are some of the ways we do that:

Cultural Events

PUTS coordinates cultural events like drama, dance, recitaion, singing at Puja events

Movie Nights

PUTS holds movie night sessions to spread the awareness about the Bengali film industry to a broader audience

Picnic

PUTS organizes picnics and potlucks where students, faculties and their family socialize

Sports Events

PUTS participates in intramurals and organizes tournaments

Officers

Get to know the people responsible for running Purdue University Tagore Society!

Krishnakali Chaudhuri

President

kchaudh@purdue.edu
Area : ECE

Somrita Chatterjee

Vice-President

chattops@purdue.edu
Area : ECE

Amartya Dutta

Treasurer

dutta14@purdue.edu
Area : Physics

Arindam Nandi

Treasurer

nandia@purdue.edu
Area : Physics

Sayan Roy

Sports Secretary

roy1@purdue.edu
Area : ECE

Sreya Sarkar

Cultural Secretary

sarkar10@purdue.edu
Area : Chemistry

Sanchari Sen

Cultural Secretary

sen9@purdue.edu
Area : ECE

Shayak Samaddar

Food Master

ssamadda@purdue.edu
Area : Chemistry

Debasmit Das

Web Master

das35@purdue.edu
Area : ECE

Satarupa Bhaduri

Student Advisor

sbhaduri@purdue.edu
Area : Biology

Dr. Saurabh Bagchi

Faculty Advisor

sbagchi@purdue.edu
Area : ECE
Website

Dr. Supriyo Datta

Faculty Advisor

datta@purdue.edu
Area : ECE
Website

Upcoming Events

This is the Calendar of PUTS that show what events are coming up next.
You can browse through different months on the left and view the calendar as Weekly, Monthly or as an Agenda by click on the right calendar tabs options.

Past Events

Click on top of the circles for the event photos

  • <>

    September, 2016

    Volleyball Intramurals

    PUTS at the grad staff league of the volleyball intramurals

  • <>

    July, 2016

    Summer Picnic

    Barbeque, Chit-Chat and Volleyball at Ross Hills Park, West Lafayette

  • <>

    May 21, 2016

    Rabindra Jayanti

    Cultural Event at Purdue Village Community Centre

  • <>

    April, 2016

    Poila Boishakh

    Co-organized with Bangladeshi Students Association

  • <>

    March 6, 2016

    International Mother Language Day

    Cultural Event at Stewart Centre in collaboration with Bangladeshi Student Association

  • <>

    Feb 13, 2016

    Saraswati Puja

    Puja and cultural function at Bharatiya Temple, West Lafayette

  • Jan 22, 2016

    Movie Night

    Detective Byomkesh Bakshy!

  • <>

    October 24, 2015

    Durga Puja 2015

    Cultural Programme at West Lafayette Durga Puja, 2015

  • Sept 11, 2015

    Movie Night

    Goynar Baksho

  • <>

    July 11, 2015

    Summer Potluck

    Potluck and Volleyball at Purdue Village Community Centre

  • JOIN PUTS
    ON THE NEXT EVENT!

Contact Us

Write to us about any questions or concerns you have in the box below: